Week 6: Sew Something to Make Sewing Easier

So last week I didnt post my week 5 make, may be I will get around to blogging it later (I did sew something, I just want feeling blogging about it🤷‍♀️.)

This week over at the 52 Week Sewing Challenge was to sew something to make sewing easier. And while I really wanted to do a sewing apron for me, time ticked down quickly on me and I couldn’t decide on a fabric from the ones I had at home. So I decided a crafting project to make Hubby’s life easier was both more functional AND less time consuming😂

A while ago I made a Flosstyle Hip Aid for a swap gift and my husband had commented that it would be a great thing for him to have for drill and router bits, screws and nails that he often goes back and forth to to his work bench for.

But he of course wanted several changes to meet his needs better. No zipper because that pocket is useless for his needs and he didn’t care for the small pockets being differing sizes. So I set about making the small changes he asked for.

I went digging through my fabric to find a suitable choice for him. This fabric was gifted for an apron (which I am sewing later) and I knew had plenty extra to make the hip aid.

I had a complicated time picking thread. But ended on the bottom color above.

I think it turned out great! The first time I made this project it was a long and slow process, this time it was a project that cutting to handing over to husband took 45 minutes total (I imagine adding the zippered pockets would have added maybe 15 minutes). So that makes my list of quick gift items list.

What are your 1hr and under gifts you like to make?

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑