Winter Wear Designs: Hacking to make a 70s vintage style romper

If you follow the blog, you know that I sewed the Petite Pan and Racing Shorts in knit fabric earlier this week (you can findthat post here.) After talking to Sweet Pea she decided that she wanted the shorts tighter and the top attached to shirts for a fun swimsuit cover up or outfit for riding her bike.

Since this is an add on post hacking previous patterns (linked above) I’m just going to cover the change in construction.

I started with taking 3 inches off the length of the Petite Pan, though once made I realized I could have probably left the original length to provide lots of room for Sweet Pea’s longer torso.

Part of a pattern piece being measured off 3 inches to shorten it.

After shortening it appropriately, I constructed the Petite Pan the same as the instructions then added a gathering stitch to the bottom of the hemline. Next I constructed the shorts the same as the instructions. I did an 18 month sizing as Sweet Pea specifically indicated she wanted the shorts much more fitted.

Image of the top clipped to the shorts.

Once I sewed the top to the shorts, I added elastic to the hem allowance to create the waistline.

I think it turned out pretty cute. And it turned out just like Sweet Pea imagined it would! I would, in future makes, make a size 3 shorts just to give plenty of room for playing and growing, when using double brushed polyester. But she really loves the fit and really that’s all that is important!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑